January 11, 2011

  • 1/11/11 to Infinity

    Today is January 11, 2011, but many people, mostly superstitious types, women, and radio DJs, like to point out that it is “1/11/11.”  I suppose that this is a lot of “1′s” in a date, which makes people want to romanticize its significance.  I’m not a warlock or a druid, so I don’t know for certain if there really is anything special about today.  So far the day has started off without anything noteworthy happening.  When I woke up the sky wasn’t black or red; it was normal looking.  The Second Coming is still on hold.  Drake’s music still sucks.  I was told to make a wish at 11:11, and as far as I know, I’m still not a triillionaire.  Maybe I should try again at 11:11pm.

    The only reason I know that today’s date has a lot of “1′s” is because people can’t stop talking about it on Facebook and Twitter.  If these social vectors did not exist, I’m fairly certain that January 11, 2011 would only be appreciated for what it really is:  Tuesday.  “1/11/11″ (which is technically “01/11/11″) is really about nothing, which ultimately means that people on the internet can’t stop talking about nothing.

    I’m back.  Let’s try this again before November 11.

Comments (2)

  • i had an appointment at 11 am today that went well, so there’s that.  but you’re right, we should worry about this on November 11th.

  • haha in korea they have peppero day on 11/11 (i dk if you’re familiar with pepperos but if you aren’t, they’re like pocky sticks that resemble 1s) and on 11/11 you give pepperos to someone you like so this year will be the ultimate peppero day!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *